RSS Feed

stop press – new renovation starting july 1st!

I know, I haven’t even finished down here yet (or finished even updating this blog with our progress thus far), but sometimes life just happens this way.

Yes, our tenant upstairs is officially moving out!  Being on a fixed income it’s been difficult for her to find a place, but social housing has stepped in and – voila, a place has been found.  She’s happy, we’re happy, it’s all good.

So now  – more renovating!  I barely even remember what it looks like up there, but it is bigger, so we’re pretty excited to move.  I’m especially excited about getting my hands on the kitchen as there’s actually room for a table.  Imagine – a table!

Of course I’ve already been thinking about what we might do up there, but I didn’t want to get too carried away as I wasn’t convinced she was really going to leave (she’s been there over 30 years, so legally, and ethically, there wasn’t a lot we could do).  But now – all bets are off.

So, in the spirit of getting carried away, let me share my latest obsession, the most amazing decorating books we recently found at auction: House & Garden’s Complete Guide to Interior Decoration from 1970, and The Doubleday Book of Interior Decorating and Encyclopedia of Styles from 1965.

Holy crap were people more adventurous about decorating back then!  The colours, the patterns, the sheer BALLS of some of the design decisions will completely blow your mind.  We are so incredibly boring now in comparison.  What happened?  Did people live in their houses longer back then and were less concerned with re-sale than today?  Or were bright colours simply the trend?

I’m planning an entire blog post (or two) about them when I can access a good scanner (there are so many images there that need to be shared), but throwing photo quality to the wind, given today’s developments, here’s two kitchens from the House & Garden book that have rocked my world:

The colours are even more lurid in the book (really), but I think you get the idea.  I love the caption in particular.  Who wouldn’t want ‘vertical reaches of uncompromising orange and yellow’?  I also enjoy that fact that ‘efficiency loses nothing by wearing a vivid face.’  Too true.  But my most favourite part is where they refer to the Andy Warhol  as ‘a naïve flower picture’.  Awesome.

Then there’s this one:

Admittedly, it’s a little scary when all the cupboards are closed, but you’ve got to admire anyone who paints the inside of their cupboards blue, yellow AND red.  I also thought the layout of stove facing sink was pretty inefficient (though cool looking), but I notice they do have a tap beside the stove, which does seem a little ahead of its time – unless this was common then and is only recently making a comeback.

This section on kitchens was also entitled ‘Centers That Cater to Creativity’.  Nice.

Now obviously, these aren’t for the faint-hearted, but when one already has a lime green kitchen, where does one go from there?  Luckily the 70’s seem to have the answer…

3 responses »

  1. i’ve said it before, i’m a huge fan of the orange/pink/limegreen?

    Reply
  2. hmmmm 1965 and 1970? I think society was leaving behind mother’s little valium helper and moving on to stoned. There is a difference between festively bright and hideously lurid, Carly, so beware!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

