RSS Feed

one step forward…

…and another one back.

Yes, it’s called ‘having the electricians in’.  Necessary, but oh my do they leave a mess.  It’s like your very own make-work project.  At least this time I had them in before painting all the walls, though it’s still awful to have even one newly primed wall desecrated.

What are we talking about?
Holes – lots of them.

You get the idea.

So, it’s been a day or two of patching and sanding instead of actually getting on with, arguably, more important stuff.  The holes downstairs got left for around 8 months as I was so disheartened I just couldn’t summon the energy to fix them (I had already finished pretty much everything else before they came).

I lived with the holes for so long I even started making art about them (I thought I might as well use them for something).   Here’s a short clip of a (longer, more self-indulgent) video I made of the holes downstairs for my video class (using short wave radio numbers station recordings):

 

Ominous huh?  Well, holes in the walls and ceilings of a 100 year old house are creepy, I don’t care what anyone says.

But this time is going to be different, and hopefully we’re doing everything in the right order.  Hopefully.

My friend Nate came and helped cut drywall to fill the patches as I have no patience for this kind of thing and am prone to trucker swearing when things don’t go my way.  I did a few and then just got frustrated and had to go do something else.  Putting them in also sucks as our walls and ceilings are plaster, so it’s not an easy job like drywall on drywall as the thickness is different for each and you have wooden lath in the way.  Do I sound annoyed enough yet?

To make them stay in place (though some of them fit fine and could just be mudded in) I fished out the drywall bit for the drill and attached some wood strapping to the backs of the drywall patches.

Now, here’s a tip: do not touch the drywall screw after you’ve drilled it.  It’s hot, and will burn your finger.

Why, you ask, would you even do such a stupid thing in the first place?  Perhaps because you’re an idiot like me.  I don’t know why, but for some reason, I couldn’t stop.  Sometimes renovating just turns me into Homer Simpson.

I wonder if that’s flush?  D’oh!  That’s really hot.  I shouldn’t do that again.  I wonder if that’s flush?  D’oh!  That’s really hot.  I shouldn’t do that again.
D’oh!
…and on and on.  (as soon as I find the Simpson’s episode I’m thinking of I’ll add it here)

I don’t know if you can see, but yep, there’s an indent of a drywall screw on my finger.  100% self-inflicted through idiocy.

Anyhoo…

Patches eventually got patched:

And the repair on the scary hole in the ceiling is almost done:

Of course, there was more nicotine to clean, but I finally finished the kitchen ceiling.

Pretty satisfying, but still shudder-inducing gross, especially when your head accidentally brushes against it.  Note to self: wear a hat.

Here I am down to the last patch:

Horray!

Of course, there’s still loads to do.

So why, you might ask, am I sat here on my ass digging up old art videos and blabbering on about essentially very little?

Well, my friends, it is ‘Energy Audit Day’ and the house currently looks like this:

That would be a large fan doing some technical stuff I don’t pretend to fully understand.  What I do know is they may as well have put it outside for the amount of ‘energy efficiency’ they’re going to find in this house.  In other words, it’s not going to really tell us anything we don’t already know (Your basement is freezing and has no insulation! Shocking.), but it means money in energy rebates from the government, so we’re happy to play along.

Oh bureaucracy…

2 responses »

  1. Hey, we are getting an energy audit today too! Nanaimo has their own rebate, just for getting an energy audit, regardless of the outcome. $60. Every bit helps, right? Maybe the ‘fax has something like this too?

    Reply
  2. Nice! I don’t think we get any perks for just getting the audit, though I do know if you’re on a low income you get the cost waived. Would be nice though!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

